What to Do At The Airport

img_0439Have you ever been stuck at the airport for more than 3 hours? When it’s only a 3-hour layover, it’s nothing. By the time you get from one terminal to another (or just from one part of the airport to another), go through the security check and find your gate, it could easily take 2 and a half hours.

Although, if you have to wait for 5 to 8 hours, it could get really boring.

Here’s what I usually do:
1. First, I need to find my gate and sort of understand the direction that I will have to go as soon as it’s time. It’s important to have an idea how long it will take me to get there from different parts of the airport.
2. Then, if I have more than 5 hours to kill, I like to find a nice comfortable place to sit or even lie down. In Amsterdam they have reclining chairs for that in different areas of the airport. It could be a bean bag chair or just a soft nice couch, or an armchair.
3. If I am really tired I try to take a nap but put my carry-on or my purse under my head, like a pillow. In this case nobody will steal it from you.
4. After resting for some time, it’s time to look around. I prefer to go to the book shop or a souvenir store. In a book shop you can just take a book and dive into at least a few pages. You don’t even have to buy a book, just kind of get an idea what you would want to read in the future. I usually download my books to my awesome little Kindle Paperwhite.
5. And all souvenir stores can tell you so much about the culture of the country you’re in, that it’s worth spending at least half an hour there.
6. And the last thing I like to do before actually going to my gate is find a nice inexpensive café and have tea or even a meal there. You can order something familiar or try authentic national food. I am usually not a big risk taker when it comes to food, so I often get a sandwich and a drink.
7. Of course, my favorite thing to do at the airport is read. It’s one of those few opportunities to dive into the book without feeling guilty because you need to get back to work. I read while sitting ata café, resting on a comfy chair or just waiting for my flight at the gate.

So, this is my routine. What do you usually do? Could you share some tips?

Leave a Reply

